Adventures in Running with Maurine

Carbohydrate Intolerance Test – week one of two

1 Comment

I’ve been struggling for four months to lose weight unsuccessfully. According to MyFitnessPal – I should have lost about 15-25 pounds.  I lost 1-2.  (OK – one day I lost 4 pounds and gained it back the next day.  I’m not counting that day.) I’m not going to go into all the methods I tried, but so far it is even stumping a registered dietician.  This dieting after 50 is harder than I thought.

I have also been trying to reduce my sugar addiction.  Pretty unsuccessful at that one too.  I made some progress, but not enough.  I can’t blame my sugar addiction coach at Lifelong Fitness (Griff Nielson) on this one.  I just didn’t have the desire that I needed.

With a couple of months until the Pony Express races, I decided to follow the Carbohydrate Intolerance Test from Dr. Phil Maffetone that is considered an important part of Maffetone training. The basic concept behind this 2 week test is to remove most sources of carbohydrates from your diet for two weeks to see if it removes any of the following dietary issues an athlete might be struggling with:

Carbohydrate Intolerance Health Survey. (Some Common Signs and Symptoms): (Copied from the Maffetone website)

  • Poor concentration or sleepiness after meals.
  • Increased intestinal gas or bloating after meals.
  • Frequently hungry.
  • Increasing abdominal fat or facial fat (especially cheeks).
  • Frequently fatigued or low energy.
  • Insomnia or sleep apnea.
  • Waist size increasing with age.
  • Fingers swollen/feeling “tight” after exercise.
  • Personal or family history of diabetes, kidney or gall stones, gout, high blood pressure, high cholesterol/low HDL, high triglycerides, heart disease, stroke, breast cancer.
  • Low meat, fish or egg intake.
  • Frequent cravings for sweets or caffeine.
  • Polycystic ovary (ovarian cysts) for women.

Note:  I italicized symptoms I have experienced.  Insomnia has lessened almost completely since I got out of a toxic work environment.

The basic eating plan is to eat as much as I want of vegetables (except starchy vegetables like corn, beans, beets), cheese, eggs, nuts, and meat.

As of the end of today I will have completed the first week of the test. In this time I have lost three pounds, avoided giving into sugar and junk food cravings and eaten vegetables until they are coming out of my ears.

Things I have noticed:

  • If I get a weird taste in my mouth it is an indication I am not drinking enough.  Once I drink a couple of glasses of water this goes away.
  • Headache the first day – but have not had any problems with that since day 1.
  • Cravings come and go.  I just have to say no.
  • The plan recommends getting rid of all non-test items before the test.  I didn’t do that.  I’ll still be eating some of that food when the test is over and wanted the challenge of avoiding them.

The hard part….

I was raised with the concept that when the going gets tough – eat comfort food and junk food.  And lots of it. 

Well, I picked a doozy of a two week period to take the test.  Week one – I threw my back out on day 3 and was miserable for two days.  I successfully avoided all my cravings for comfort food and didn’t break down and eat candy or chocolate.  I consider this a major accomplishment and am quite proud of myself.  I don’t know if it is just because I don’t want to go through this again or I finally have some self control.  Whichever option it is I will take it.

Next week I have a skin cancer removal scheduled (luckily it is a small basal cell carcinoma and nothing that will spread) which will also leave me in pain and challenged for a few days.  I am determined to overcome.

The goal of this test…

The overall goal of this test is to see if Carbohydrate Intolerance has built up over years in my body.  I should end up feeling better, breaking some addictions and convert my body over to burning fat more than burning sugar. The fact that my body was able to take some pounds off when the scale has been stuck for weeks makes me think that I definitely had some carb issues and hopefully this will allow me to become a better runner and keep the weight loss going after the two weeks is over.

But I still want chocolate… In fact – the thought of eating chocolate in a week is the only thing keeping me going from day to day.

One thought on “Carbohydrate Intolerance Test – week one of two

  1. HMMMMMMMMMMMMMM:

    Poor concentration or sleepiness after meals. YES
    Increased intestinal gas or bloating after meals. nope
    Frequently hungry. YES
    Increasing abdominal fat or facial fat (especially cheeks). oh HELL YES
    Frequently fatigued or low energy. YES
    Insomnia or sleep apnea. AHHHHHH SHIT YES
    Waist size increasing with age. SIGH, YES
    Fingers swollen/feeling “tight” after exercise. nope
    Personal or family history of diabetes, kidney or gall stones, gout, high blood pressure, high cholesterol/low HDL, high triglycerides, heart disease, stroke, breast cancer. not really (just the BP thing)
    Low meat, fish or egg intake. YES
    Frequent cravings for sweets or caffeine. or BEER…..YES
    Polycystic ovary (ovarian cysts) for women. nope

    hmmmmmmmmmmmm

    Like

Leave a Reply

