Adventures in Running with Maurine

I Love the Mountains

Leave a comment

One of my favorite songs (a round) from growing up was “I Love the Mountains.” 

I love the mountains.
I love the rolling hills.
I love the flowers.
I love the daffodils.
I love the fireside.
When all the lights are low.

Boom dee ah dah. Boom dee ah dah.
Boom dee ah dah. Boom dee ah dah.
Boom dee ah dah. Boom dee ah dah.
Boom dee ah dah. Boom dee ah dah.

(Interestingly enough – I just found another verse I did not know about that speaks to me too – it goes as follows:
We walk together.
Hike by the quiet stream.
Watch for the sunrise.
Breathing the air so clean.
When we’re together,
Sharing our fondest dreams.)

As I drove through Utah, Arizona, New Mexico and Texas this week I came to realize once again how much I love MY mountains and how beautiful the area I live in really is.  There were so many places that I just wanted to stop and find a place to run or hike in.  I could have easily never come home. 

I am so grateful for mountains.  They shelter me, comfort me, challenge me, enthrall me, entertain me and so much more. 

While I was driving I also saw a lot of the Navajo Nation (at least from the road).  It made me appreciate books and learning.  I recently have been reading the Ella Clah series by Aimee and David Thurlo and enjoyed learning more about Navajo culture and customs.  As I drove – I was much more aware of certain things like the hogans that many traditional Navajo had next to their houses and that the doors all faced East.  I would not have noticed these things if not for books. 

I think that is one of the reasons I enjoy buying novels set in areas I have visited as well as travel related books. They help me learn and understand so much more about locales and history. 

Have I rambled enough?  All caught up on the blog posts about my trip that I had planned. 

Leave a Reply

