Adventures in Running with Maurine

Antelope Island Volunteering and Running

Leave a comment

On October 11 I trekked up north to volunteer at the Antelope Island 50K race.  It started out to be an all day affair, but the Race Director cancelled the 100K because not enough runners had signed up.  I worked with a father and daughter at the Elephant Head aid station for 2 hours until the last runner came through.

After my volunteer shift was over, I ran back to the race start on the old jeep trail that used to be the start of all the Buffalo Run races.  I loved the long downhill and was happy to catch one glimpse of wildlife.  I saw a tawny coat streaking across the trail about 150 feet ahead.  Looking it up later, I determined that it was a mountain lion. It was my first time spotting a mountain lion in the wild and it was exciting to see a new critter to add to my collection.

Leave a Reply

