Adventures in Running with Maurine

Suck it up, buttercup!

Leave a comment

I read this quote today in an article about Gabby Giffords – a politician from Arizona whose life changed in one second when a bullet entered her brain.  My problems are small in comparison.

Next Saturday is the St. George Marathon.  I have an entry for this race.  I have chosen to not run this race.  A couple of weeks ago I kept getting a prompting that I should not run St. George.  After a couple of days of mental whining, I broke down and called my sister who goes to this race with me each year.  She admitted she had been having the same feeling – so I guess it was meant to be (or not meant to be – if you look at it that way).

My foot is healing – the plantar fasciitis is much better many days.  I still worry about the foot being weak.  I think it is time to adjust my race schedule once again.  My dreams for a 100 mile finish must be moved to sometime in 2015.  In the meantime, I need to work on strengthening my entire foot, gradually increasing my mileage, and general strength training.  I think that I can still do races, but am going to lower my ambitions for a while and just enjoy not being in pain and letting my body get back to where I need and want it to be.

I know that many of my non-running friends probably think this is the only sane thing to do.  Of course, most of them don’t think I should punish my body like I have over the years.  My ultra friends will totally understand how emotionally devastating these decisions are and how much “pain” I am in from choosing this course.

In the meantime – maybe I will try some new things.  Perhaps I should try yoga.  Or go back and start over on the black belt that was denied me 25 years ago.  If you hear me slacking or whining – feel free to dope slap me and yell “Suck it up, Buttercup!” in my ear.

Leave a Reply

