Adventures in Running with Maurine

Puppy Prep 101

1 Comment

Friday and Saturday I started in on my puppy prep. I figured it was time to get some of the necessities for my newest addition to the family before she actually arrives (17 days – but who’s counting?)….

So far I have:

  • 3 books on dog training
  • A magazine on Yorky puppies
  • 2 different packs of pee pads
  • A set of stairs for my bed for the puppy (courtesy of my sister)
  • A retractable leash
  • Dog brush
  • Regular leash
  • Toenail clippers
  • Baby/Dog gate
  • A dog pad for the tile floor she will be on when I am gone
  • Doggy toothbrush and toothpaste
  • About 6 puppy sized toys
  • 2 puppy outfits
  • Some training treats
  • Some wire for my balcony so the puppy won’t fall off (courtesy of my sister)
  • Teething toys
  • 2 water bowls and a food bowl
  • Tray to put the food and water bowls on

My sister is also providing me with:

  • Puppy chow
  • Some shampoo and conditioner
  • A collar
  • A toy
  • A blanket or bed for the puppy
  • The puppy pen they are currently in
  • More piddle pads
  • Twilight the awesome, beautiful, adorable puppy!

I went by my sister’s house last night and held Twilight twice. The first time she was pretty scared and kept shaking until I wrapped her in her blanky. The puppies are all getting pretty active – but still clumsy. The first girl went to her new home yesterday morning and all the puppies experienced their first bath.

Later in the evening I came back and picked up Twilight again and she crawled up my chest and started licking my face like crazy. Guess she got used to me again.

Maurine

One thought on “Puppy Prep 101

  1. Twilight! I love the name. I am more of a cat person, but those puppies look beyond cute!

    Like

Leave a Reply

